I’m so glad it’s Friday and the end to another hectic week. Anyone else feel that there’s not enough hours in the day!! Work flew by today and before I knew it, it was time to go home. I’m looking forward to a weekend not thinking about work, filled with good company and good food.

Talking about food, my eats today were so good! I started the day off with a medium sized bowl of homemade muesli with a handful of Shreddies on top for added crunch – these actually got soggy in the milk so didn’t really crunch in the end!

I didn’t make as large a bowl as usual as I had to take Tim to the station but it actually filled me up and kept me sustained well. This obviously shows that I don’t need as big a bowl as I usually have. Recently I’ve noticed my breakfast portion getting bigger in size, maybe I should cut back….only a little though as breakfast is my favourite meal of the day!

Lunch was a triumph! As it was Friday I made another big salad (anyone else make one today??). As I talk about here, this is a great way to use up any leftover produce from the week. The STAR of this weeks salad was 2 boiled eggs! I boiled them last night whilst I cooked dinner, popped them in the fridge overnight, then made the salad this morning. OMG eggs are fab!

Delicious!

I will definitely be adding them to my future salads, they definitely added a different dimension to it and I devoured my whole pot. In the mix was: 4 romaine lettuce leaves, thin cucumber slices, 1 large tomato, 1 slice of cooked chicken, 2 boiled eggs and 1/2 tbsp mayonnaise. Actually the mayonnaise made this salad too, it is the secret ingredient for making lettuce interesting!!

The other parts of my lunch were a ripe banana, just right in flavour actually, and one custard cream! There were about 3 left in the tin but the other 2 were broken, I’ve left those for Tim!!

After work I went to the gym – a place I haven’t been during the week for ages! Tim and I were talking about this yesterday and he was saying that I should switch to pay-as-you-go membership in the summer as I run outside a lot. I know that this is a good idea as it saves me money but I don’t want the hassle / am too lazy to do it! So, with today being very overcast and grey I decided to make use of my membership and go to the gym!

Here is what I did:

I’m really pleased I went actually as it made me remember how great the gym is for a more varied workout. Running outside is great as you get to experience real hills and you actually feel like you are going somewhere, but in the gym I can really focus on training in a different way. The main thing is that I can use the weights to help tone my body and I can work on getting stronger. I can also use the treadmill to gain a different cardio workout -like today I did an interval workout I found on Tina’s workout section and the time / distance flew by. For some great tips on making treadmill runs interesting check out Lauren’s fab posts.

When I got home, Tim had made Chilli Con Carne for dinner – one of my favourite meals! I actually devoured my portion! Even though I try to take what looks to me like a small portion I always end up stuffed about halfway through. I think the combination of the beans and wraps really fill me up. Today I powered through and cleared my plate. I definitely needed it after the gym!

So onto my surprise….when I was at work this afternoon Tim messaged me to say that he had bought me a present. He had a half day today so went into town this afternoon. I was so excited to find out what it was that I couldn’t wait to get home! It was actually the best present ever – 2 sweat bands and a pair of 3/4 length capri pants.

Surprise!

He is so the best boyfriend ever! I really wanted both of these things before my Race for Life next Sunday but I can’t really afford to buy them right now. Tim did say that he was going to get them for my birthday in July but that is obviously after the race. So I resigned myself to the fact that I was just going to wear my normal gym stuff…..not anymore! I love the pants so much and the sweat bands are just what I need now I’m increasing my mileage. Thanks so much baby!

Have you had any nice surprises lately?

