Yesterday my work colleague, who I shall call L, and I were discussing the running that we do. I told her that I went for a 5km run on Sunday so was having 2 days off to recover before running again last night. Her first response was ‘if you are doing a marathon you have to do more than that‘. This made me feel really annoyed. It was as if she was judging me for not running as much as she does.

I have entered myself for the Virgin London Marathon in April 2011, which she knows about, but don’t know yet whether I have got in. I have looked at the training plan that they suggest and if I go get a place I will start this in October. I only recently started running properly in April/May, in preparation for a possible marathon, but even if I don’t get a place I will continue running and do other races.

Her comment got me thinking about running and why some people do more than others. I go running 3 – 4 times a week and at least two of those runs are over 2 miles. For me this is still quite a long way and my current mile pace is juts under 10 mins. I know that I cannot run everyday of the week for many reasons:

  • My body needs time to recover between long runs
  • I have other responsibilities at home such as cooking the evening meal / spending time with my boyfriend
  • I work long hours so do get very tired towards the end of the week (well throughout the week actually!)

I know a lot of people who run everyday, L runs 5 miles and I don’t think it’s for the best reasons. I run to improve my fitness and to increase my mileage. It is also a great way to relax after a hard day at work.

A lot of the bloggers I keep up with do run everyday, a lot don’t. They know what works for them. I too know what works for me. Even though I felt slightly pressurized to increase my run amount and distance I know that I don’t need to justify my exercise to anyone.

It would be very interesting to hear your thoughts on this – how often do you run and how long for? Have you ever felt pressure from someone else to increase your exercise?

