For the 2nd time in a week I am all alone in our flat! Tim is out at a meeting for work and won’t be home until 9pm so I am entertaining myself……by catching up on all my blogs! I had NO time to do it at work today as I have been super busy. There was a lot of unnecessary drama today as I thought I had agreed to something we couldn’t do as it wasn’t in the other companies’ contract (make sense??!) but panic not, I had got my wires crossed and it was all ok. Before I knew it, it was 5.30pm and time to go home for the day. Fab!

So before I tell you about the “thrilling” evening I have planned, here’s my eats for today. For breakfast I had my go-to cereal for exercise days: homemade muesli.I love the combination of soft oats with the crunchy almonds and plump raisins. This never fails to fill me up and as always it sustained me until lunch. I don’t know why I eat oats on exercise days, maybe because I think they give me extra fuel!

For my lunch I had the usual chicken salad sandwich and then I tried a new find – a 9 Bar.

Original flavour

It was absolutely delicious!! I wasn’t too sure about it when I bought it  as it has a carob topping. My mum isn’t meant to eat chocolate as it is too sugary for her so often has carob bars instead. When I’ve tried these in the past I really didn’t like the taste as it was a bit bitter for me. But the carob on here was lovely – the whole thing was! This is what their website says about it:

“9Bar has a distinct flavour created from a unique mix of seeds and enhanced with a carob topping. The basis of all 9Bar’s are Sunflower seeds but 9Bar’s celebrity seed is Hemp. The Original 9bar is one of a kind with an individually delicious taste, packed with nutritional goodness. More than 57% of an Original 9bar is seeds, with a richly thick carob layer accounting for another 15%.”

If you can get these where you are DO IT! I can’t recommend them enough!

So my fabulous evening actually started off really well. When I got home, I quickly changed into my running clothes and went for a great run. I normally do a loop from my house, down to the local shops then up a hill and round back to our flat – it’s about 1.65 miles. Today I was feeling ambitious and decided to do the loop twice. It was a hot evening and I forgot my water bottle so was struggling a bit. Even though I had a few walking breaks the second time round, I was so pleased to do the 3.3 miles in 31.57 mins. Thats quicker than my 5km / 3.1 mile run on Sunday! I have no idea how that is possible but I’m very pleased!

After my run I dived straight into my dinner – a baked sweet potato with baked beans and feta cheese.

OMG this was delicious! This was the first time I had eaten a baked sweet potato and I will definitely have it again. THe feta went really well with the beans and I’m glad I chose that over the normal cheese in the fridge. Whilst I was eating this my friend called me to talk about the arrangements for our meet-up on Saturday. I am so excited to see her as we are going to have a picnic – I hope the weather stays nice.

After round one of my dinner I moved onto dessert – a banana muffin with peanut butter, fromage frais and walnuts.

Nom!

This too was lovely and just what I needed to give me a sweet treat after my run. I split the muffin in half and spread it with peanut butter. It was such a good combination and with the crunch of the walnuts against the creamy yogurt was delicious. I only have 3 left in the freezer, they are running out too quickly!

For the rest of the evening I am going to catch up on your blogs, watch the new series of Big Brother (so excited!) and look for some cakes to bake for work. If you’ve read previous posts you’ll know that I was asked to bake a cake for our 20th birthday celebrations. In the end we didn’t really celebrate as our directors were stuck abroad due to the ash cloud but we still had the cake anyway! If you want to read about the baking process there is Part 1 and Part 2. This time I’m not going to make one big cake, I think I might chose 3 – 5 cakes to make so people have more of a selection.

Hope you all have a great evening.

