***Don’t forget to enter my fab giveaway – it closes at 6pm tomorow***

It is so HUMID here, I am actually tired out from the heat! I think the temperature was meant to get up to 29C in London today and I’m sure it did! It was so sunny for most of the day except for about half an hour in the afternoon when the heat must have got too much and it started to chuck it down with rain – it was so loud! But I think it was needed as it’s a bit cooler now, yet still very warm!

You can even see the rain!

So what have I done on the hottest day of the year so far…..relax??? No! Today has been quite busy, no wonder I’m tired! This morning we went to the gym, probably not the best idea on a hot day. When we first got there we could tell the air conditioning was on but after 2 mins on the treadmill I was sweating loads! I upped the treadmill to 9.5km/hr (I usually do 9km) and was all set to bang out a 3km run….but I was too hot that I had to stop at 2.5km. I suppose it wouldn’t have been too much longer to do another 0.5km but I really couldn’t do it. For the rest of my time at the gym I was sweating continuously and really couldn’t wait to leave and get in the shower!

For my lunch today I had the best sandwich ever – tuna and sweetcorn with cucumber and romaine lettuce on seeded wholegrain bread. But being as hungry as I was I finished eating it before I realised I hadn’t taken a picture! I’m such a bad food blogger – I promise I’ll do better from now on! (It was a great sandwich though!)

After lunch I set out on my second hot task – food shopping. Tim didn’t come with me as he is going to Tooting for the evening so I had to do the shopping by myself. It wasn’t too bad and I managed to get round in about 20 mins. The hard part came when I had to get the shopping from my car to our flat…..up 2 flights of stairs and 2 heavy doors! I managed to get all the bags from the car to our building but had to take it up to our flat in two trips, I miss my strong man!

Look at all this!

I did get myself a little treat – on the recommendation of Debs I bought some Fromage Frais. It is such good value, 85p for 500g!! I am really looking forward to incorporating this into my meals and into my breakfasts especially. It will be so refreshing in the morning.

After putting the shopping away I then started my third hot task – hoovering! This was such a stupid idea! Even though I had all the windows flung open, after hoovering the whole flat I was actually sweating. It is so true that cleaning is a great workout. As well as hoovering I cleaned our kitchen. I love it when the kitchen is clean and tidy as I just want to get in there and start cooking!

Finally, after all that, I made my dinner – Pasta with Aubergines and Feta. I’ve had my eye on this recipe for ages now and as Tim’s away, tonight was a perfect time to make it – he hates aubergines with a passion!

All that you need

I really enjoyed this meal, the aubergines were really soft and went really well with the feta. I loved the fact that you add a can of chopped tomatoes to make the tomato sauce, it’s so quick and simple. But if you want you can easily add any homemade tomato sauce – in fact I’m sure it’ll add to the final dish. I didn’t finish the portion I took as it was way too big and very filing. It was really delicious though and such a great vegetarian dish.

Pasta with Aubergine and Feta (Serves 4)

  • 1 red onion, sliced
  • 2 aubergines, cubed
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1/2 tsp chilli flakes
  • 400g tin chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp parsely
  • 350g pasta (any kind)
  • 100g feta, grated
  1. Cook the pasta according to the packet instructions.
  2. Heat 2 tbsp oil in a frying pan and saute the onions with a little salt for 5 mins.
  3. Add the aubergine and saute for 10 mins.
  4. Throw in the garlic and chilli flakes. After a quick stir, add in the chopped tomatoes and 100ml water. Simmer for 10 mins.
  5. Add in the parsely and a little black pepper.
  6. Drain the pasta, then add in the aubergine sauce.
  7. Serve with the feta sprinkled over the top. Enjoy!
