I hope you’ve all had a good start to the week. Monday is never my favourite day and I always look forward to the end of the working day. It can’t roll round fast enough, especially today as it was a gorgeous day outside and I did NOT want to be stuck indoors in front of a computer! It is the perfect evening to go for a run but as I went to the gym yesterday I’m giving myself a day off today. I’ll definitely be going tomorrow though – got to keep the mileage up!

So instead of focusing on the fact that it’s Monday (again!), the start of another week, being stuck inside whilst it’s sunny, I’ve decided to bring you a list of good things that I’ve seen in the blog world and from my day today. Yes there are good things about a Monday!

  1. The first has to be a massive congratulations to Caitlin and Jenna for completing their 100 miles bike ride (Echelon Gran Fondo) through the Napa Valley in aid of the LiveStrong Foundation. They are both such inspirations to me. [Pic Source]

    Jenna & Caitlin

  2. My lunch was fab! It definitely hit the spot after a busy morning at work. When 1 o clock came round I was STARVING but I had to make a dash to Asda to get some lettuce so didn’t eat until 1.30!
  3. My lunch consisted of a ham salad sandwich, a banana and a few mixed nuts and raisins. I had the nuts / raisins more in the afternoon to pick me up, I was definitely flagging in the hot weather!
  4. The warm weather meant that I could wear one of my favourite summer dresses without tights! I love this dress as it’s so colourful!
  5. It was a colleagues birthday at work today so in honour of that I had half of a Rolo cookie that she had bought in.

    The packets they come in

    There was a lot of goodies that I could have chosen from but I only really wanted half a cookie to carry me over until lunch. I am so pleased actually that I didn’t devour the cupcakes, iced fingers, lemon muffins etc and only stuck to a small treat.The cookie was ok….nothing special but it was a nice hit of sugar.

  6. Another great find on Caitlin’s blog – Tips on preparing yourself for a race. These are so good and so comprehensive I really recommend that you read them. Even if you are preparing for a 5k (like me) or a 100 mile bike ride (like Caitlin), these tips will really help you out.
  7. Finally, I’ve discovered these really motivational quotes. I love quotes and used to have loads written on little cards and stuck on my wall when I was about 15! I’m always on the lookout for new ones so if you have any good ones let me know!
  • “Life isn’t about finding yourself, it’s about creating yourself”
  • “Commitment is what you do when no one else is looking.”

Dinner this evening was Toad in the Hole. You might think that we are crazy for having a big, hot meal in this weather – 25 degrees plus! – and to be honest I was craving a salad all day, but when the time came to eating it, I was hungry and devoured my portion! A lot of people say that eating / drinking hot things when the weather is hot will acclimatise your body to the heat and cool you down…..not sure if that’s true! Toad in the Hole is one of my favourite foods. There’s just something so childish about eating the crunchy batter with the sweet baked beans, I love it! This recipe will feed 3 people (2 sausages each) or, like I used to do when at uni, 2 people (3 sausages each!) Thank goodness times have changed since then!

Toad in the Hole

  • Pack of 6 sausages
  • 115g plain flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 300ml milk
  1. Heat the oven to 220C/Gas mark 7. Prick the sausages all over with a fork / sharp knife and place on a baking tray. Cook in the oven for 10 mins.
  2. Whilst the sausages are cooking make the batter – in a mixing bowl, stir together the flour and salt, then whisk in the eggs until combined. Gradually add in the milk, whisking all the time, until incorporated and there are no lumps left in the batter.
  3. Take the sausages out of the oven and place them into a lightly greased ovenproof dish. Pour the batter over them and put back in the oven.
  4. Leave to cook for 40 – 50 mins until the batter has risen and is golden brown. DON’T be tempted to open the oven door to check on it as this will cause the batter to sink!
  5. Serve with baked bean (my personal choice!) or vegetables. Enjoy!

    My portion + another spoonful of beans!

