It is the bf’s birthday today and to celebrate we had a nice brunch of poached eggs on toast.

I’ve been reading a lot in the papers recently about eating eggs for breakfast as they set you up well for the day. They are being said to be the new superfood! I like this idea as it definitely makes a change from the cereal I normally eat. So I decided to do a little research into the benefits that eggs have:

  • The are one of the most nutrient-dense foods as they contain Vitamin D, Vitamin B12, Selenium and Choline. They also have a rich mix of essential amino acids so are packed full of protein.
  • Eggs help to ensure growth and repair so are a vital food for children and teenagers.
  • They also contain high levels of antioxidants so may help to prevent age-related degeneration.
  • Eggs are low in calories – a medium sized egg contains 80 calories so are a great healthy choice for breakfast. Just don’t fry them!

[Source]

All of these points have convinced me that eating eggs in the morning is a good idea. It doesn’t take long at all to poach an egg or make scrambled eggs and I think I will introduce them more into my diet, especially at breakfast time.

Do you eat eggs for breakfast? Do you think they set you up for the day?

