I’ve decided to focus much more on trying to lead a healthy and balanced lifestyle. I’ve been reading Catlin’s, Tina’s, Jenna’s and Freya’s blogsfor about 3 months now and I admire them all so much. They all lead very balanced lifestyles, eating and exercising well. The difficult thing for me is living on quite a tight budget and having to cater for the bf’s needs as much as mine. For example, I can’t start to eat a vegetarian lifestyle (not that I want to!) otherwise I’m sure I’ll be dumped! I will try to make small changes to my diet and up the amount of exercise I do. Recently I’ve become much more motivated to exercise more and I’m definitely feeling the benefits. I’ve also started to drink a litre and a half of water a day and am feeling so much better for it. The bf said the other day that my skin is looking a lot brighter. This has spurred me on to continue to make changes and maintain a better lifestyle. I’ll continue to post all the recipes that I make as I love cooking / baking and I’m still trying to make my way through the thousands I have! But I’ll be making an effort to focus more on my lifestyle and how the food I cook or bake fits in with this. I believe that you can live healthily on a small budget and still enjoy a wide range of food. So, as my blog title says, come Cook, Bake and LIVE with me!

So onto yesterday, I had to make an emergency trip to the dentist to get my filling replaced (booo!). I was eating dinner on Wednesday night and the whole thing just fell out! It had been feeling a bit weird for some time and I was worried about it. I don’t know why if fell out, maybe because it was old, but I was not happy! So yesterday I was in pain all afternoon after having a new one put in. I have been on the “Soup Diet” for 2 days now and have just struggled to eat a plate of Chicken Pasta Bake! Hopefully the swelling and sensitivity will go down in a few days as I hate not being able to eat properly, I love my food!!

Here are a few things that you can eat whilst you are in pain from your filling:

  • Soup – this is the most obvious but you can dress it up. I added a lot of grated cheese to my tomato soup last night. I really recommend adding Parmesan! You can also tear up some bread and drop it in. It’ll soak up the soup and go nice and mushy.
  • Ice Cream – this is the only time I don’t feel bad about eating ice cream!
  • Smoothies – if you’ve seen the Green Monsters lurking around blog world they will be great. I much prefer the look of their more friendly Cherry or Strawberry bombs, the colour appeals to me much more!
  • Porridge – The creamier this is the better. It will also fill you up and keep you going thourgh the pain!
  • Banana – You can either eat this normally as it isn’t that bad on your teethor you can mash it up!
  • Hot Chocolate – If you need a chocolate fix, whip up a batch of this. It will definitely sooth you!

Hot Chocolate (Serves 2)

  • 6 tbsp drinking chocolate / cocoa
  • 2 tbsp caster sugar
  • 600ml milk
  1. Put the ingredients into a saucepan over a medium-high heat and bring to the boil, whisking constantly.
  2. Once boiled, pour into two mugs and top with whipped cream and grated chocolate (if you want). Enjoy!

I used cocoa for mine and the flavour was so deep and intense. It was like drinking a melted dark chocolate bar! We didn’t have any whipped cream so just had it plain. That was actually enough for me as it was very filling and sweet! It was just what I needed though after a trip to the dentist!

