Last week I had two suspicious looking bananas hanging around my kitchen. They were even starting to stink it out a bit! So I decided that something had to be done, either use them in something or throw them away. After scanning my cookbook shelf I decided to make something from Everyday Muffins & Bakes. I had already made some banana and pecan muffins from here (which were amazing) so decided to tackle another recipe – Banana Muffins with Cinnamon Frosting.

This recipe was in the “healthy” section of the book so used things like wholewheat flour and low fat butter. Did I follow this…….NO! As I don’t have these ingredients I just used ordinary flour and good old full fat butter! And they turned out really well. They were so moist and the banana flavour really came through. I cooked them in my muffin tin in these cool silicone cases that my bf’s mum gave me.

I love them as there’s no faffing around with paper cases and when the muffins are cooked you just peel back the case and out they pop! They don’t get too messy either so are ideal for me!

In the original recipe, it suggests that you top the muffins with cinnamon frosting made from cream cheese. We don’t really buy plain cream cheese and I didn’t want to get a pot just to use 50g of it like the recipe calls for. So I decided to improvise……..I missed out the cream cheese and just used icing sugar, A LOT of icing sugar (so much for them being healthy!) I also added a bit of milk. The end result was quite a runny icing, not the stiff one the recipe suggests. I also added in more cinnamon as I couldn’t taste it very well. I must have used about a tbsp worth! Once my icing had “hardened” up though it did go really well with the muffins. The cinnamon flavour was quite subtle but complimented the banana flavour well.

Banana muffins!

I’m counting this as another one (of my many) recipes done. Just because I didn’t use the suggested ingredients doesn’t meant that it’s not fully made. I adapted them to suit my own needs. I used to think that if you don’t stick to a recipe religiously then it’s not properly made. But now I find it ok to use different ingredients to make it suitable for me. See my last post as another example, I’m getting good at this!!

Here is the recipe. I’ve put down my ingredients for the muffins but the real recipe for the frosting. I hope you make these are they are perfect, bite-sized, semi-healthy treats!

Banana Muffins (Makes 12 / Adapted from Everyday Muffins and Bakes)

  • 150g plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 6 tbsp milk
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 150g margarine, melted
  • 2 small bananas, mashed
  1. Line a muffin tin with paper (or silicone) cases. Preheat the oven to 220C/Gas Mark 6.
  2. Sift the flour, baking powder and salt together in a mixing bowl. Stir in the sugar.
  3. Whisk the milk, eggs and melted margarine together in a jug until combined. Slowly stir into the flour mixture.
  4. Fold in the mashed bananas.
  5. Spoon the batter into paper cases and bake for 20 mins / until risen and golden.
  6. Leave to cool on a wire rack.

Cinnamon Frosting (from the original recipe)

  • 50g cream cheese
  • 25g margarine
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 90g icing sugar
  1. Beat the cream cheese and margarine together in a bowl, then beat in the cinnamon and icing sugar until smooth and creamy.
  2. Chill in the fridge for 15 mins to firm up, then top each muffin with a spoonful. Enjoy!

Mine with their frosting!

Oh before I go, I got the new Zest magazine this evening. I haven’t read it yet as I’m catching up with some TV at the moment but I’ve flicked through and it looks brilliant. I can’t wait to read it tomorrow! I’ll do a little review on here about it as well.

