As I mentioned in my last post, I have been cooking all weekend long, from Friday to Monday. And I’ve just extended that to today as I’ve just whipped up a batch of banana muffins. (I love that term ‘whipped up’, it makes me sound like such a domestic goddess!) I’ll be posting the recipe soon.

Speaking of posting recipes, in one of Tina’s posts yesterday, she has done a write up of her first ‘Writing about Food ‘ class (so jealous). It is so interesting and something that I would really love to get into. Maybe I should have a search for some similar courses here. She gave her readers a few great tips about how to post / write recipes. Please pop over to have a look. The one I found most interesting is this:

  • When publishing a recipe (print or online), the ratio of ingredients is not copyrighted. The narrative/instructions, however, are copyrighted, so you need to rewrite these in your own words.
  • I never realised that this was the case. I do try to write any recipes in my own words and always make sure that I source it if I can. It’s all these little things that I don’t know but would love to learn!

    A lovely shoulder of lamb

    So onto this Greek Lamb….. on Sunday me and the bf went over to his parents to watch the final football game of the season. As this was the 4th (!) weekend in a row that we had been over there, I thought that it would be nice if I offered to cook a meal for them to say thank you. Little did I know though that instead of cooking for 4 people, I had to cook for 6 as his aunt and uncle were over from Denmark. So it turned into a right little dinner party!

    After looking through all my cookbooks / cut out recipes I decided to cook Greek Lamb with Orzo from BBC Good Food’s 80 best-ever recipes (the same book I used for my Lemon Drizzle Cake). It is a simple one pot dish that easily feeds 6 people. It is also quite cheap as all you need is some lamb (obviously) and some orzo. Everything else you will probably have in your cupboards.

    Orzo

    Orzo is Italian for barley. It is a bit like pasta as it soaks up any liquid that you cook it in. I managed to find a 500g bag in Morrisons (of all places!) The recipe only calls for 400g but I thought I would use the whole bag. I don’t think this was the best idea as the sauce was quite thick!

    I would really recommend this recipe as it is so simple. All you need to do is cut up the lamb and chop 2 onions but then you just bung it in the oven and let it do it’s own thing! I was able to talk to people and watch most of the football as well (even though they didn’t win!). Another great thing about it is the use of cinnamon sticks. I love using ‘exotic’ spices in savoury food, especially cinnamon, and in this the taste isn’t too overpowering at all. The sticks are in the pot for a long time but the flavour they give off is very subtle. It definitely adds to the dish!

    Greek Lamb with Orzo (Serves 6 / taken from 80 best-ever recipes from BBC Good Food )

    • 1kg boned shoulder of lamb
    • 2 onions, sliced
    • 1 tsp oregano
    • 2 cinnamon sticks, broken in half
    • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
    • 2 tbsp olive oil
    • 400g can chopped tomatoes
    • 1.2l hot chicken stock
    • 400g orzo
    • freshly grated Parmesan, to serve
    1. Heat the oven to 180C/Gas Mark 4. Cut the lamb into large chunks and place in a large casserole dish.
    2. Add the onions, oregano, cinnamon sticks, cinnamon and olive oil, then stir. Bake for 45 mins, stirring halfway through.
    3. Add in the chopped tomatoes and the stock, stirring to combine with the lamb. Cover with a lid, then put back in the oven for 1 1/2 hours until the lamb is very tender.
    4. Remove the cinnamon sticks, then stir in the orzo.
    5. Cover again, then cook for 20 mins, stirring halfway through.
    6. Once cooked, give it a final stir, then sprinkle with some grated Parmesan before serving.

    The orzo should have soaked up some of the liquid and thickened the sauce. I served this with some roast new potatoes and a large salad. In the salad was: lettuce, watercress, tomatoes, cucumber, pepper and 3 different types of beans.

    Roast Tatoes!

    The yummy salad!

    It was so nice to have the cool crunch of the salad against the soft potatoes and creamy lamb. Everyone really loved this dish and most of us had seconds! I will definitely be making this again and really hope you do too, you won’t be disappointed!

