This is one of my most FAVOURITE meals ever! If I could eat it each week I would! I think I love it even more than my bf does. I remember that I always asked for it at uni and he was never that enthusiastic. Maybe because I did actually ask for each week!!!

When I first learnt to cook, courtesy of my bf, this was one of the meals that I loved making as it’s so easy. Just add onion, mince, tomatoes and beans and you have it. And I love it even more now as it’s so quick to make when I come home from work. I can come in at 6pm and be eating within 45 mins. The only thing I don’t like about it is the fact I have to make rice. This is something that I’ve never mastered and have had many disasters over the years. In fact ths evening I got my bf to check that I had put enough rice in the pot and then enough water! I’m such a baby!

I really recommend this as a great weekday meal. The recipe below will feed a family of 4 or you can have half, then freeze half. It has all the good protein from the mince and beans and carbs from the rice – well balanced meal. You can even up the bean content if you want to make it even nicer!

Chilli Con Carne (Serves 4)

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 2 red onions, chopped into chunks
  • 500g beef mince
  • chilli flakes
  • 400g can copped tomatoes
  • Can of kidney beans
  • Can of any other sort of beans – pinto, flageolet, haricot, black eyed
  • 2 tbsp tomato puree
  1. Add 1 tbsp oil to a pot and fry off the two types of onions and garlic for 5 mins.
  2. Add in the mince and cook until it had browned.
  3. Add in some chilli flakes – as much as you want!

    Our cute chilli flakes!

  4. Add in the chopped tomatoes and the two types of beans and cook for another 5 mins.

    In with the tomatoes

    Kidney and flageolet beans

  5. Stir in the tomato puree, then leave to simmer for 20 mins.
  6. Serve with long grain rice, tortilla wraps and sour cream. Enjoy!
  7. YUM!


