Preparation for my cake is going well. I have all of the icing I need (and more – I bought so much!) and all of the decorations. I think in total I will spend £30 on materials so will charge work £60. That’s quite reasonable I think. I did say today that I wanted £70 and the person I was speaking to went a bit quiet…..maybe it was a lot of money. I hope they are happy with the price. I’ll find out tomorrow I suppose!!

Anyway, onto this evening. I was planning on going out to play my flute but after a lot of thinking / soul searching I decided that I wasn’t going to. I have been musical all my life and was quite good on the flute. Since leaving uni 2 years ago I haven’t played my flute at all. So last week I went along to a Band. I really enjoyed it and it was great to play my flute again but I just think it’s too much hassle to join permanently – timing, food, money, relationship – a lot of things are affected by me going out for one evening. Dramatic I know!

So my bf and I were eating apart today. I got to eat one of the food he hates – MUSHROOMS!

Massive mushrooms!

I decided to make stuffed mushrooms – I’ve made this once before and it was quite disappointing!! But this time it was really nice. These mushrooms were so big and were really meaty. It was like eating a chicken breast!! I stuffed them with a mixture of red onion, crushed garlic, cooked couscous and stilton.

The Stilton was definitely the best bit. I love strong cheeses! I put a bit on top of the mushroom, then added the ‘stuffing’, then topped with more Stilton. The ‘stuffing’ was…..different! We didn;t have any breadcrumbs and I didn’t want to buy pre-made ones and we didn’t have any crusty / old / any (!) bread to grate so I decided to use what I thought was the next best thing – couscous!! I made it in the morning before work, then when I made the ‘stuffing’ I fried it in the pan with the onion + garlic. Looking back now, this wasn’t the best idea. I should have just added it to the onion after it was fried as it did go very crispy, especially after being in the oven for 15 mins. Next time I will either use real breadcrumbs or, taking my inspiration from this months Asda magazine, use crushed cannelloni beans. This would have been a great idea actually!

This recipe serves 1 person but of course you can double it for 2 people or even quadruple it for 4 people!! A great starter, with some lettuce, or a main course, with some vegetables. You could also serve one alongside a chicken breast as a side dish. The possibilities are endless!

Stuffed Mushrooms (Serves 1)

  • 2 large / Portobello mushrooms
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 50g cooked couscous / cannelloni beans
  • 25g Stilton / any other strong cheese, sliced
  1. Preheat the oven to 200C/Gas Mark 6.
  2. Trim the mushrooms so that the top is quite flat. Do remove the stalk if you need to. Place onto a baking tray.
  3. Fry the chopped onions and garlic in a little oil for a few mins until softened.
  4. Spoon into a bowl and stir in the couscous until combined / stir in the cannelloni beans and crush slightly
  5. Place a little Stilton onto the top of the mushrooms, then top each with an equal amount of the couscous / onion mix. Then top each with the remaining Stilton slices.
  6. Bake in the oven for 15 mins until the top is golden. Enjoy!

    Stuffed and served with juicy roasted cherry tomatoes

