This is going to sound quite horrible but I LOVE it when I get the chance to cook for myself!! Living with a man, most of the meals that we eat contain some sort of meat – beef mince, pork mince or chicken. Don’t get me wrong I LOVE meat and could never be a vegetarian but it is always nice to eat a completely vegetarian meal. Also, my bf doesn’t like a lot of the things that I do, for example courgettes, aubergines and mushrooms. When I can cook for myself I leap at the chance to use these ingredients.

So on Thursday night when I got home for Easter I decided to make a nice simple dish – Roasted Courgette & Tomato Pasta with some Parmesan. This was exactly what I needed. The pasta was just right and the roasted vegetables were sweet and juicy. The Parmesan was tangy and really added an extra dimension to this dish. It was a plate of comfort food, I was home and eating a lovely meal.

Roasted Courgette and Tomato Pasta (Serves 1)

  • 1 courgette, trimmed and diced
  • 3 large tomatoes, chopped / 12 cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1 garlic clove, thinly sliced
  • 110g uncooked pasta / spaghetti
  • grated Parmesan
  1. Preheat the oven to 200C/Gas Mark 6.
  2. In a roasting tin, toss the courgette, tomatoes and garlic with 1 tbsp oil and season. Spread into a single layer and roast for 20 – 25 mins until the courgette is lightly browned.
  3. Meanwhile, prepare the pasta according to the package instructions.
  4. When the vegetables are ready, stir into the pasta, along with any juices.
  5. Add some Parmesan and toss to combine.
  6. Tip out onto a plate and top with some more Parmesan. Enjoy!
