Yesterday was the first day of my long Easter break. I’ve booked the 1st and 6h April off so in total I have 6 days off. However I can’t escape work as I have my work emails synced to my Blackberry! Some people might say that this is not a good idea because I can never get away but I find that it puts my mind at rest. I like knowing when I’ve got an email that I’ve been waiting for, instead of worrying about it all night. Maybe I need to be less attached to my job….interestingly, my horoscope in the Telegraph on Sat for the week said ‘…don’t let domestic chores or work commitments take up too much energy and time’. I think I need to take this on board. I do often ‘bring my work home with me’ and rant at my bf about it. I need to leave my work at WORK and not worry about it until the next day.

So today I decided to not worry about the emails coming to my phone (15 so far, and counting!) and take a whole day to myself. I went to the gym in the morning and was there for about an hour. It was so nice going when it wasn’t packed as there wasn’t the pressure to get onto a machine before someone else! After my workout I went home, showered, then baked – my favourite way to relax. Recently I’ve really got back into cooking and baking, thanks a lot to this blog, and I had had my eye on this recipe for a long time.

Originally I wanted to make something with yeast in as my yeast has been opened for about 3 months and I’ve only used it twice (so bad!). I bet it has ‘deactivated’ itself actually! But as I was driving home in the afternoon I didn’t have enough time to let dough rise. My initial plan was to make homemade Hot Cross Buns so I adapted it to another recipe I had, Hot Cross Scones (from Delicious magazine). I admit before I post the recipe that I rolled my dough out too thinly and used a small cutter so my ‘scones’ are more like biscuits! But they are yummy nonetheless. They are still crumbly and the cross on top is chewy. Next time I make them, I’ll make a thicker dough and definitely use a bigger cutter as these ones are too bitesize for my liking! The recipe is quite simple, they do take a little time to put together as you have to put crosses on each scone but it is definitely worth it.

Hot Cross Scones (adapted from Delicious Magazine)

  • 225g self-raising flour
  • 75g butter
  • 40g light muscovado sugar
  • 125g greek currants
  • ½ tsp ground mixed spice
  • 1 large egg
  • 4 tbsp milk, plus extra for brushing
  • 50g plain flour
  • 1 – 2 tbsp water
  1. Preheat the oven to 220C/Gas Mark 7. Line two baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Sift the self-raising flour into a large bowl, then rub in the butter with your fingertips until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs.

    Rubbed in

  3. Stir in the muscovado sugar, currants and mixed spice.
  4. In a jug, beat together the egg, milk and a pinch of salt. Pour into the flour mixture and bring together with your hands to make a soft dough.

    With the mixture added...

    ...mixed in to form the dough

  5. Lightly dust a work surface with flour, then roll out the dough to no thinner than 2cm. Using a 6cm cutter, stamp out the rounds – try not to twist the cutter, as this makes the scones rise unevenly. Re-roll the trimmings and stamp out more. Transfer to the baking trays.
  6. Crosses – Mix together the plain flour and water to form a smooth dough. Roll out, cut into thin strips and put a cross on top of each scone.

    Flour & water mixed then rolled out + cut into strips

    With Crosses on top

  7. Brush with the extra milk, then bake for 15 minutes, until well risen and golden.
  8. While baking, make the glaze. Dissolve 2 tbsp sugar in 2 tbsp boiling water. Brush over the tops of the scones as soon as they come out of the oven. Cool slightly on a wire rack.
  9. Eat while warm, or split and toast the next day and serve with a smudge of butter. Enjoy!
