As well as making the Almond Cake for the Passover I went to last night, I attempted to make my own Chocolate Truffles. We had to bring some sweets or chocolate with us but instead of being normal and just buying a box, I wanted to make my own! This is the baker in me coming out! I looked through my recipes and found a few different recipes for truffles. I also looked in the internet and found an easy to follow recipe on BBC Good Food. I really need to start making the recipes I already have instead of finding more!

The chocolate that I used

Ready for the cream!

The cream and the butter ready for melting

With the cream/butter added....

...all melted and ready for the fridge!

I made the ganache at about 3.30pm and it still had to set in the fridge for 4 hours, so I didn’t actually get round to forming the truffles until 8pm at night – that was when my kitchen turned into a disaster zone! As I mentioned in my last post our kitchen is tiny. When I made the truffles there was all the stuff from dinner on the left of the hob, the hob covered in pans and then a little space for me on the right, next to our cereal boxes – there was soon chocolate EVERYWHERE!

I used a tsp to get the ganache out of the bowl and then rolled it between my hands. I think it had only just set (or I was feeling hot) because as soon as I rolled it, it started to melt. My hands were covered! I then used two teaspoons to make them ’round’ but this was messy too. I ended up with 2 tea-towels covered in chocolate and half a kitchen roll used up! But the act of making the truffles was very fun. The recipe below made about 35 truffles. I covered 10 in white chocolate – this was quite difficult as the hot white chocolate melted the ganache a bit so a few are more marbled than covered (but the look fine now they are set!), rolled 12 in crushed pistachio nuts and 13 in cocoa powder.I then put them in the fridge overnight. The next morning they had hardened up nicely and the ones covered in white chocolate looked fine.

Chocolate Truffles (Makes about 35 – adapted from BBC Good Food)

  • 170g good-quality dark chocolate, at least 70% cocoa solids (even though my chocolate was 74% cocoa it was classed as plain…..weird tesco!)
  • 170ml double cream
  • 30g butter
  • Pistachio nuts, crushed
  • 100g white chocolate, melted
  • Cocoa powder
  1. Chop the chocolate into small pieces and place into a large bowl.
  2. Put the cream and butter into a saucepan and heat gently until the butter melts and the cream reaches simmering point.
  3. Remove from heat, then pour over the chocolate. Stir together until you have a smooth mixture.
  4. Cool and chill for at least 4 hrs.
  5. To shape the truffles, dip a melon baller in hot water and scoop up balls of the mixture, then drop the truffles onto greaseproof paper. Or lightly coat your hands in a flavourless oil and roll the truffles between your palms.
  6. Coat the truffles immediately after shaping – tip some crushed pistachios into a container and some cocoa powder into another. Gently roll the truffles until evenly coated. To coat in the white chocolate,  pick up one truffle at a time with a fork and spoon the chocolate over the truffle until well-coated.
  7. Chill all truffles on greaseproof paper overnight.
  8. The truffles can be stored in the fridge in an airtight container for 3 days, or frozen for up to a month.

Pistachio and White Chocolate Truffles

Cocoa Powder Truffles (plus a few pistachio ones!)

Packaged up ready for Passover

