After having to separate 5 eggs for the Almond Cake I made yesterday I did NOT want to throw the yolks away – it was such an effort to separate the eggs without breaking one yolk! I did it though! So I decided to use them in a quiche. I had some pastry in the freezer that I had made at Christmas so I took that out to defrost pronto!

I made the quiche whilst my bf was making French Onion soup for dinner (which was AMAZING!) and it was quite difficult getting both of us in our small kitchen!! I’ll have to put a picture on here to show you all how small it is. It’s definitely not big enough for 2 people!

So why luxury quiche…?? Well, it had just egg yolks in it (no whites) and I used up the rest of the double cream that I had used earlier when I made Chocolate Truffles, also for Passover (post to come about these). So all in all it is quite decadent compared to how I would normally make quiche! To this base mix I added some milk,  two tomatoes, one red pepper and some Cheddar cheese.

I am quite proud of myself because I didn’t follow a recipe for this. For a long time I thought I wasn’t a good cook as I followed recipes. My bf seemed to ‘know’ how to cook, he cooked with his instinct. I thought that I can’t be a good cook if I followed what others had written and didn’t cook with my own ideas. However, I now feel confident enough to play around with recipes, adding in what I want, taking out things I don’t and generally changing them to what I want. With quiche, I’ve made it a few times before and now know that if I blind bake the pastry for about 20 mins at 190C, then add in the filling and cook for about 30 mins, you’ll have a nice quiche at the end of it.

I made this in a rectangle ovenproof dish as I don’t have a tart pan (yet another cooking implement I don’t have!) but do make it in a proper pan if you have one! Verdict – yummy. The tomatoes and red peppers were so soft and the quiche filling itself so creamy. Maybe I should use double cream all the time!

Luxury Quiche (Serves 4)

  • Shortcrust pastry (enough to line your dish)
  • 5 eggs yolks
  • 60ml double cream
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 50ml milk
  • 30g cheddar, grated
  1. Preheat the oven to 190C/Gas Mark 5. Lightly dust a work surface with flour, lightly butter your dish and roll out the pastry to fit it.

    Homemade pastry = uneven case!

  2. Place in the dish and bake blind for 15 mins. Then remove the baking beans / baking paper / foil / rice and bake for 5 more mins.
  3. Whilst the pastry is cooking, make the filling. Whisk the egg yolks, cream, tomato, pepper, milk ad cheese in a large bowl until well combined.

    Egg yolks...

    ...plus cream...

    ...plus tomatoes and pepper...

    ...plus the cheese!

  4. Pour into the partially baked case and bake in the centre of the oven for 30 mins, rotating halfway through.
  5. Leave to cool before serving. Enjoy!
