Tonight it was my turn to cook dinner. I feel as if I haven’t cooked for ages! It was so nice to get back into the kitchen and prepare a great meal for me an the bf. I find cooking after a long day at work such a good way of de-stressing. The motions of chopping, peeling and stirring helped me get over a very stressful day – I found out I had missed something in one of the publications I worked on, a picture was flipped over so the small text was the wrong way round, and I had ok’ed it to be printed without realising. (I work in a publishing company as a project manager by the way ). Does anyone else find the motions of cooking/baking to be relaxing??

This meal is one of my favourites even though we’ve only had it twice before! I love it as it has red lentils in and they get nice and soft, but still crunchy, when cooked. You start by roasting some sweet potatoes for about 30 – 35 mins.

Ready for the oven

Whilst they are cooking you can prepare the main ingredients, garlic, leeks and chorizo. I love chorizo so much. It gives off a lovely orange oil when it’s cooking and adds so much to a dish – a real Mediterranean feel. We buy the sausage variety for cooking with and my bf likes the thinly sliced version for sandwiches.

Garlic, leek & chorizo In the pot

You let that cook for about 5 mins before adding in red lentils, butterbeans, tomato puree, rosemary and vegetable stock. I’m not sure if I like butterbeans but they taste ok in this dish!

Cooking away!

For the stock I use OXO cubes – the original and the best. You just put it in your measuring jug and pour over hot water or you can crumble them into foods. They add a good amount of flavour and are so cute!

Veggie Oxo cubes

Once everything has simmered for about 20 – 25 mins, add in the roasted sweet potatoes, then leave to simmer for about 5 more mins. Everything should now be quite firm and stew-like. The lentils will now have expanded and thickened the mixture up.

Everything mixed together

Serve it with rice and / or crusty bread (depending on how many carbs you want to have!!) If you do want to make it vegetarian you could always take out the chorizo and add in another style of bean / vegetable. But I must urge you to try it with the chorizo in, it MAKES this dish. The recipe below serves 4 but do cut the quantities down if you want to make it for two or even one.

Butterbean, Sweet Potato & Chorizo Stew

  • 2  sweet potatoes, peeled & diced
  • 2 large leeks, trimmed & thinly sliced
  • 3 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 225g chorizo, chopped into small pieces
  • 100g red lentils
  • 150g butterbeans
  • 2 tbsp tomato puree
  • a sprinkle of dried or fresh rosemary
  • 900ml vegetable stock
  1. Preheat the oven to 200C/Gas Mark 6. Toss the diced sweet potatoes in 1 tbsp oil, season then roast in the oven for 30 – 35 mins.
  2. Meanwhile, in a large pan, saute the leek, garlic and chorizo for 5 mins.
  3. Add in the lentils, beans, tomato puree, rosemary and stock and simmer gently for 20 – 25 mins. The lentils should be soft but not falling apart.
  4. Add in the roasted sweet potatoes and leave to simmer for another 5 mins.
  5. Serve with rice and/or crusty bread. Enjoy!

Served up and ready to eat!

