We didn’t have a meal planned for this evening as my bf thought that he was playing football this evening. It turned out that he wasn’t so we had to think on our feet food wise. Our usual go-to meal is omelettes as they are so quick and easy to make and a great way to use up leftover produce. So this is what we had this evening. I had a courgette in the fridge that I had bought at the weekend hoping to use it somehow during the week. So this was the perfect opportunity actually!

The lovely courgette

So I chopped this up along with two mushrooms and fried them in a tsp of butter for about 5 mins.

All chopped up!

I then mixed them into some beaten eggs, along with some cheese, then poured it into the frying pan to sit for 5 mins cooking. We have some great non-stick frying pans from Ikea that are perfect for cooking eggs as nothing sticks to them!

Cooking away....

I then sprinkled some more cheese on top (I can never get enough!) and stuck the whole pan under the drill for about 7 mins to finish cooking. It was so yummy and the cheese really came through. We buy Medium Irish Cheddar but I think it was Mature cheddar in the wrong packet! It was so strong and yummy!

So along with this I had, a large white pitta that I toasted, then spread half with butter and half with peanut butter (lush!) I had the peanut butter half after my omelette, I enjoyed it so much! Along with that I had a stuffed vine leaf that my bf had bought from Marks & Spencer.

I had these once before at his parents house and wasn’t sure about them but I was willing to try them again. They were better this time round but I’m still not sure. You can really taste the mint in them, a flavour that I don’t really like in savoury food, so I found them a bit overpowering. But I was pleased that I tried them again.

The inside!

So here is my meal all together……

I really enjoyed it and it was really filling actually. I loved the combination of the courgette, mushroom and cheese and would definitely recommend you making it! Here’s a quick recipe:

Courgette & Mushroom Omelette (Serves 1)

  1. Wash 2 mushrooms and 1 courgette. Chop the mushrooms into pieces, then top and tail the courgette and dice into squares.
  2. Fry with a tsp of butter for about 5 mins until soft.
  3. In a bowl, whisk together 2 eggs, the courgettes and mushrooms, a splash of milk and some grated cheese.
  4. Pour into a non-stick frying pan and cook, without stirring for 5 mins.
  5. Place the frying pan under the grill to finish cooking for about 7 mins.
  6. Enjoy!

After I had let this go down and done the washing up and put the clean washing out to dry (!) I helped myself to one of these whilst watching the new series of Supersize vs Superskinny:

My bf’s parents gave these to him at the weekend when he went round to watch football. They are surprisingly good for you as well at only 82 cals so I didn’t feel bad whilst watching skinny people on tv! A great way to end my dinner too!

