I’ve had such a horrible day at work today. I have been busy from the moment I say down this morning until I left at 5.30pm, yet I feel like I haven’t achieved anything! There was a massive change of pages with one of the publications I’m doing and the designer who was doing it for me was useless! I spent a lot of time changing the pages myself, which probably wasn’t the best idea. Maybe I should change jobs! When lunch time rolled round I wasn’t even hungry as I had no idea what the time was. But once I had run over to Asda to get supplies for dinner I was starving. I devoured my lunch – chicken salad sandwich, banana and a little pot of mixed nuts and raisins.

It was really nice to come home and cook after my bad day, it really helped to relax me. I took out all my anger on the vegetables when I was chopping them! At least this stopped me from ranting to Tim about everything! For dinner this evening I made Chicken, Chorizo and Chickpea. I first made this whilst I was at uni and the method that I have written down is different to how I make it now. The original calls for a lot of different pans, too many to juggle on our small stove, so I now just make it all in one pot. This is so much simpler and in my book, simple is the best!

We haven’t had this for ages and I had forgotten how nice it was. The chorizo adds such a Spanish smoky flavour to it which I love, and the sauce is a great red/orange colour. I also love the veggies in this – red pepper and carrots. Carrots are NOT my favourtite vegetable but I’m happy to eat them with other things if their flavour is disguised! They were quite hard today and this was a nice contrast to the soft pepper and chicken. This recipe is perfect for an overcast day, like today, as the warming taste of Spain really comes through in this dish.

Chicken, Chorizo and Chickpea (Serves 4)

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 4 chicken breasts, chopped
  • 150g chorizo, sliced then quartered
  • 1 red pepper, sliced
  • 2 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 400g can chopped tomatoes
  • 200ml chicken stock
  • 400g can chickpeas
  • tomato puree
  1. Heat 1 tbsp oil in a pan, then add in the onions, garlic and chicken and cook for 10 minutes until the chicken is cooked.
  2. Add in the chorizo, pepper and carrots and cook for another 5 mins.
  3. Add in the chopped tomatoes, stock and chickpeas and cook for another 3 mins.
  4. Add in a good squeeze of tomato puree, then leave to simmer for 15 – 20 mins until the mixture has thickened.
  5. Serve with long grain rice. Enjoy!

    Dinner!

For dessert I think we will make a start on the chocolate that Tim bought from Marks & Spencer today. When he text me about work I said I wanted to come home and eat chocolate. Luckily he was passing town on his way back from work so popped in to M&S to get us some. I think he needs it as much as I do, he’s really been suffering with hayfever today. Hope you all have great evenings.

M&S Chocolate - yum!